Turning 67

I was born 67 years ago today, but I am still that 10 year-old kid looking at model  airplanes on display  in the window  of a men’s store on Jean-Talon Street in Montreal back in 1958.

Photos de famille 041

circa 1958

There  were no Harvards on display.

image

No Fleet  Finches.

image

No Tiger Moths.

image

No Mosquitos.

image

No Spitfires.

Spitfire pilots in cockpit Tommy Todd Hamilton

There was no Internet in 1958…

How could  I  have  imagined back  in 1958 that  I   would be sitting  in my brother-in-law’s  living room in 2009 in front  of  a  80 year-old WW II veteran who nobody in the family knew he was a sailor aboard HMCS Athabaskan which  sank on April 29, 1944 and got rescued with 41 other sailors?

équipage tourelle X

I just had to let the world know about my wife’s uncle and the story of HMCS Athabaskan.

I  just  had to…

But it did not stop there.

disk quota full

Next time, the best of Lest We Forget.

Leave a Reply

